19th GFWA Prize was held at AGS on 11 October 2011

The 19th annual GFWA Prize for final year undergraduate projects in geomechanics at universities in Western Australia was held on 11 October 2011 at Engineers Australia in Perth. During this year’s event Michael Smith from Water Corporation was the master of ceremony and Stuart Masterson from Water Corporation, Dr Nina Levy from Advanced Geomechanics and Hamish Nelson from Golder Associates were the judges. The winner of this year was Tina Qiao from UWA whose presentation was on the subject of a new centrifuge pressuremeter. She was also elected by the audience as the best presenter. Other finalists were Ryan Williams from UWA who presented a new method for estimating pipe capacity based on CPT, Stephen Kariuki from Curtin University who presented an application for red sands as lining, and Atticus Dekuyer also from Curtin University who presented a biological method for ground improvement. Babak Hamidi, GFWA’s marketing manger presented the prizes.

GFWA 19th Prize - 2011 GFWA 19th Prize - 2011

Babak Hamidi presenting Tina Qiao her prize (left) and from left to right Stephen Kariuki, Atticus Dekuyer, Babak Hamidi, Tina Qiao and Ryan Williams (right)

Posted in Uncategorised